

Ad Hoc Committee for the Selection of Advisory Boards June 23, 2023 Meeting Minutes

Members Present:

Gavin Payne, Chair Sylvia Alva Marisol Aviña Thomas Vu

Members Absent:

Deborah Cochrane

Agenda Item 1 Call to Order, Establishment of Quorum, and Welcome

Gavin Payne, Chair, called the meeting of the Ad Hoc Committee for the Selection of Advisory Boards to order on June 23, 2023 at 1:12 p.m. A quorum was present.

Agenda Item 2 Approval of the Meeting Minutes from the April 20, 2023 Ad Hoc Committee Meeting

Marisol Aviña made a motion to approve the April meeting minutes; second Sylvia Alva.

No public comment.

The motion carried unanimously (4-0).

Agenda Item 3 Review Scopes of Advisory Boards and Candidate Selection Rubrics

Marykate Cruz Jones, Chief of Strategic Initiatives and Partnerships presented this item.

Agenda Item 4 Discussion, Public Comment, and Possible Action on Data and Tools Advisory Board Applicants

Gavin Payne and Marykate Cruz Jones presented this item.

Public Comment:

Randi Paynter, Stanford University.

Sarah Swanback, UC Berkeley, Goldman School of Public Policy.

Valerie Johnson, Campaign for College Opportunity.

Diana Harlick.

Mayra Alvarez, the Children's Partnership.

Anna Alvarado, the California Edge Coalition.

Sylvia Alva made a motion recommend to the Governing Board to approve applicants Lisa Catanzarite, Diana Phuong, Diana Harlick, Helen Norris and Jacob (Oliver) Schak for the Data and Tools Advisory Board, and Gabriella Barbosa as first alternate, and Xilonin Cruz-Gonzales as second alternate; second Thomas Vu.

The motion carried unanimously (4-0).

Agenda Item 5 Discussion, Public Comment, and Possible Action on Community Engagement Board Applicants

Gavin Payne and Marykate Cruz Jones presented this item.

Public comment:

Valerie Johnson, Campaign for College Opportunity.

Jewyl Alderson, San Diego County Office of Education.

Meredith Curry Nunez, Northern California College Promise Coalition.

Parshan Khosravi, UAspire.

Sylvia Alva to recommend to the Governing Board to approve applicants Adam Gottlieb, Carla Lopez-Valdes, Karina Lopez, Lorenzo Gamboa, Alexis Takagi, and Mike Nguyen for the Community Engagement Advisory Board, and as alternates, for advocacy, Parshan Khosravi, for community, Aditi Geol, for practitioner Jewyl Alderson (first) and Renay Sehgal Mehta (second), and for student Anushka Tadikonda.

The motion carried unanimously (4-0).

Agenda Item 6 General Public Comment

Public comment:

Katrina Linden, Campaign for College Opportunity.

Agenda Item 7 Future Agenda Items

Gavin Payne presented this item.

No public comment.

Agenda Item 7 Adjournment

Gavin Payne adjourned the meeting at 2:38 p.m.