

Selection for Advisory Boards Committee June 27, 2024 Meeting Minutes

Members Present:

Gavin Payne, Committee Chair Ana Luz Gonzalez-Vasquez, PhD John Ohanian Javier Romero Thomas Vu

Agenda Item 1 Call to Order, Establishment of Quorum, and Welcome

Gavin Payne, Committee Chair, called the meeting of the Selection for Advisory Boards Committee to order on June 27, 2024 at 10:05 a.m. A quorum was present.

Agenda Item 2 Approval of the Minutes from the April 12, 2024 Selection for Advisory Boards Committee Meeting

Gavin Payne, Committee Chair, presented this item.

Thomas Vu made a motion to approve the April 12, 2024 meeting minutes; second Javier Romero.

No public comment.

The motion carried unanimously (5-0).

Agenda Item 3 Discussion, Public Comment, and Possible Action on the Data and Tools Advisory Board Applicants

Marykate Cruz Jones, Chief of Strategic Partnerships and Initiatives, presented this item.

Javier Romero made a motion to recommend that the Committee move to recommend to the Governing Board to approve Lauren Reed, Iulia Tarasova, Daniel Millán, John Watson, and Ellie Bruecker for appointment to the Data and Tools Advisory Board and runners up in the following order: (1) Myrtha Ortiz Villar, (2) Caroline Durdella, (3) Alex Nottbohm-Popelka, (4) Carlos Rodriguez, and (5) Tammy Pham; second John Ohanian.

No public comment.

The motion carried unanimously (5-0).

Agenda Item 4 Discussion, Public Comment, and Possible Action on the Community Engagement Advisory Board Applicants

Marykate Cruz Jones, Chief of Strategic Partnerships and Initiatives, presented this item.

Javier Romero made a motion to recommend that the Committee move to recommend to the Governing Board to approve Dar'rell Jones, Lisa Countryman, Scott Aseltine, and Natalia Gonzalez for appointment to the Community Engagement Advisory Board and runners up in the following order: (1) Marisa Johnson, (2) Pang Vangyi, (3) Cristian Reyes, and (4) Anushka Tadikonda; second John Ohanian.

Public comment:

Natalia Gonzalez, Riverside County Office of Education.

Valerie Johnson, Campaign for College Opportunity.

Gabriela Jimenez, Jewish Vocational Service.

Neftali Galarza, Riverside County Office of Education.

The motion carried unanimously (5-0).

Agenda Item 5 General Public Comment

Natalia Gonzalez, Riverside County Office of Education.

Agenda Item 6 Future Agenda Items

Gavin Payne, Committee Chair, presented this item.

Public comment:

Adam Ochwat, Secondary Education Administrator (retired).

Agenda Item 7 Adjournment

Gavin Payne, Committee Chair, adjourned the meeting at 11:31 a.m.